### TOWN COUNCIL

Arthur Mathews, President Patrick O'Connor, Vice President

Robert M. Conlon Kenneth DiFazio Jane Hackett Ed Harrington

# Town of Weymouth Massachusetts



Thomas J. Lacey Brian McDonald Michael Molisse Victor Pap III Michael Smart

# AGENDA

# TOWN COUNCIL MEETING April 17, 2012 7:30 PM Council Chambers-Town Hall

- 1. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE
- 2. ROLL CALL
- 3. ANNOUNCEMENTS
- 4. MINUTES

Special Town Council & Budget/Management Committee Meeting Minutes of February 15, 2012 Education Committee Meeting Minutes of March 19, 2012 Town Council Meeting Minutes of March 19, 2012

- 5. RESIDENT AND COMMUNITY COMMENT
- 6. PUBLIC HEARINGS
- 7. OLD BUSINESS
- 8. COMMUNICATIONS AND REPORTS FROM THE MAYOR, TOWN OFFICERS AND TOWN BOARDS

Presentation of Fiscal Year 2013 Budget
-Mayor Susan M. Kay
-William McKinney/Chief Financial Officer

#### Fiscal Year 2013 Budget Measures:

- **12 042**-General Government Annual Appropriation- \$135,119,271 (Segregated by department and coded alphabetically)
- 12 043-Revolving Accounts Annual Authorization
- 12 044-Gift Accounts Annual Authorization
- **12 045-**Unpaid Bills-\$552.68
- 12 046-Free Cash-Reading and Math Curriculum Materials-\$850,000
- 12 047-Free Cash-Information Technology for Schools-\$150,000
- 12 048-Free Cash-SPED Out-of District Tuition-\$350,000
- 12 049-Health Insurance Unexpended Balance
- 12 050-Free Cash-Salary Reserve-\$150,000
- 12 051-Free Cash-Stabilization Fund-\$200,000
- 12 052-Sewer Enterprise Fund Annual Appropriation-\$14,013,133
- 12 053-Sewer Retained Earnings-Sewer Department Vehicles-\$85,000
- 12 054-Sewer Retained Earnings-Wetland Replication-\$250,000
- 12 055-Sewer Capital Projects-Transfer Unexpended Balances to Capital Projects Residuals-\$204,084.94
- 12 056-Water Enterprise Fund Annual Appropriation-\$9,585,876
- 12 057-Water Retained Earnings-Water Main Improvements-\$2,000,000
- 12 058-Water Retained Earnings-Water Department Vehicles-\$115,000
- 12 059-Water Reserve Fund-Iron Hill Building Repairs-\$40,000
- 12 060-Water Reserve fund-Radio Frequency Upgrades for PRV"s-\$150,000
- 12 061-Water Reserve Fund Transfer-Water Treatment Plant Filter Media Replacement-\$150,000
- 12 062-Community Preservation Committee Annual Appropriation-\$676,945

Non-budget measures:

- 12 063-Reappointment to the Board of Assessors-Paul Haley
- 12 064-Reappointment to the Cemetery Commission-Deborah Sullivan
- 12 065-Reappointment to the Community Events Committee-Frannie Xerokostas
- 12 066-Reappointment to the Commission on Disabilities-Maria Flynn

- 12 067-Reappointment to the Board of Elder Services-Steve Manupelli
- 12 068-Reappointment to the Board of Elder Services-Dorothy Cannif
- 12 069-Reappointment to the Historical Commission-Jody Purdy-Quinlan
- 12 070-Reappointment to the Scholarship Fund Committee-Linda Sforza Berg
- 12 071-Reappointment to the Waterfront Committee-Paul Brooks
- 12 072-Reappointment to the Zoning Board of Appeals-Richard McLeod
- 12 073-Reappointment to the Fourth of July Committee-Peter Webb Jr.
- 12 074-Reappointment to the Veterans Council-Francine Nesson

#### 9. REPORTS OF COMMITTEES

## Budget/Management Committee-Chairman DiFazio

Capital Improvement Plan-Fiscal Year 2013

- 12 023-Free Cash-Receipts-Special Purpose Stabilization Fund
- 12 024- Appointment to the Recreation Commission-Janelle Quinn
- 12 025- Appointment to the Recreation Commission-Karen Johnston
- 12 026- Appointment to the WETC Board of Directors-Robert O'Connor
- 12 027- Appointment to the Zoning Board of Appeals, Alternate Member-Brandon Diem
- 12 028- Appointment to the Zoning Board of Appeals, Alternate Member-Raymond Brad Vinton
- 12 029- Reappointment to the Board of Library Trustees-Dorothy Coveney
- 12 030- Reappointment to the Waterfront Committee-Raymond Nash
- 12 031- Reappointment to the Waterfront Committee-Nancy Blazo
- 12 032- Reappointment to the Scholarship Fund Committee-Claire Cunningham
- 12 033- Reappointment to the Memorial Committee-Keith Spain
- 12 034- Reappointment to the Historical Commission-Donald Mathewson
- 12 035- Reappointment to the Board of Health-Richard Wetterberg
- 12 036- Reappointment to the Commission on Disabilities-Susan Kelly-Luscombe
- 12 037- Reappointment to the Community Preservation Committee-Christopher Hannan
- 12 038- Reappointment to the Community Preservation Committee-Donna O'Sullivan

#### 12 039- Reserve Fund Transfer-Building Maintenance

12 040-Reserve Fund Transfer-Veterans Benefits

12 041-Police Department Line Item Transfer

Town Auditor/Richard Swanson

-Quarterly update on financial activity regarding:

- -LNR mitigation
- -Southfield service billing
- -Stabilization funds
- -Reserve fund
- -Emery Estate
- -Free cash
- -Fogg Library renovations

#### 10. NEW BUSINESS

Fore River Bridge-Project Labor Agreement Resolution
-Vice President Patrick O'Connor

Potential South Shore Hospital Merger with Partners HealthCare -Councilor Michael Smart

**12 075**-Appointment of Assistant Town Clerk-Lee Hultin -Kathy Deree, Town Clerk

- 11. MOTIONS, ORDERS AND RESOLUTIONS
- 12. ADJOURNMENT

The next regularly scheduled Town Council Meeting will be held on <u>May 7, 2012 at 7:30 PM.</u>
The Annual Town Meeting will be held at the Abigail Adams Auditorium on <u>May 14, 2012 at 7:00 PM.</u>