

Weymouth School Committee

Town Council Chambers January 3, 2022 SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

(approved 1/20/22)

Members In Attendance: Dr. John Sullivan, Chair; Tracey Nardone, Vice Chair (via Zoom); Carrie Palazzo, Secretary; Kathy Curran; Rebecca Sherlock-Shangraw; Steve Buccigross

Members Absent: Mayor Hedlund

Also Present: Robert Wargo, Superintendent; Brian Smith, Assistant Superintendent; Melanie Curtin, Assistant Superintendent

At 7:15pm the Town Clerk, Kathleen Deree swore in Town Council Members as well as School Committee members Kathleen Curran, Dr. Rebecca Sherlock-Shangraw, and Steve Buccigross.

President Arthur Matthews called the Town Council meeting to order at 7:30pm and led in the pledge of allegiance.

Motions to nominate and elect Town Council President and Vice President were made. Motions passed to elect Arthur Matthews as President and Michael Molisse as Vice President. A motion passed to refer to the Ordinance Committee and Planning Board Measure 22-001 citizens request 1206471, billboard relocation.

The next Town Council meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 18, 2022. The Town Council meeting adjourned at 7:36pm

Dr. Sullivan called the School Committee meeting to order at 7:43pm. Vice Chair Nardone turned the meeting over to Town Clerk Kathleen Duree for nominations and elections of School Committee Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary.

Motion made by Mrs. Nardone and seconded by Mrs. Curran to nominate Dr. Sullivan as School Committee Chairperson. Motion passed. Dr. Sullivan accepted the nomination of Chairperson.

Motion by Mrs. Curran and seconded by Mrs. Nardone to close nominations for Chairperson. Motion passed.

Motion by Dr. Sherlock-Shangraw and seconded by Mrs. Curran to elect Dr. Sullivan as School Committee Chairperson. Motion passed.

Motion by Ms. Palazzo to nominate Mrs. Nardone as Vice Chairperson. Seconded by Dr. Sherlock-Shangraw. Motion passed. Mrs. Nardone accepted the nomination.

Motion by Mrs. Curran and seconded by Dr Sullivan to close nominations for Vice Chairperson. Motion passed.

Motion by Dr. Sullivan to elect Mrs. Nardone as Vice Chairperson. Seconded by Mrs. Palazzo. Motion passed.

Motion by Dr. Sullivan to nominate Carrie Palazzo as Secretary. Seconded by Mrs. Curran. Motion passed. Ms. Palazzo accepted the nomination.

Motion by Dr. Sherlock-Shangraw to close nominations for Secretary. Seconded by Mrs. Curran. Motion passed.

Motion by Mrs. Curran and seconded by Dr. Sherlock-Shangraw to elect Carrie Palazzo as Secretary. Motion passed.

Next School Committee Meeting:

Regular Meeting: Thursday, January 6, 2022 - 5:30pm

The Meeting adjourned at 7:48pm on the motion of Mrs. Curran seconded by Dr. Sherlock-Shangraw. Passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Carrie Palazzo Secretary