## Economic Development Committee October 1, 2012 Town Council Chambers

Present: Chairman Francis Burke

Councilor Thomas J. Lacey Councilor Jane Hackett Councilor Brian McDonald

Absent: Councilor Patrick O'Connor

Also present: Council President Arthur Mathews

Recording Secretary: Diane T. Hachey

Chairman Burke called the Economic Development Committee Meeting to order at 6:45 PM.

## <u>Issue-Correspondence to Mayor Kay on Memorandum of Understanding</u> (MOU) for the Fore River Bridge

Chairman Burke stated that a draft of memorandum to Mayor Kay was left at all Councilor places in preparation for this meeting. He attended a meeting, at Mayor Koch's Office and in attendance were: Mayor Kay, Mass DOT, J.F. White (contractor), and several legislators. It was made very clear that J.F. White works for Mass DOT, and Chairman Burke is asking that the Council go on record in support of the Mayor's implementation of an MOU for the Fore River Bridge replacement project. A memorandum of understanding was established for the Sithe Energy project and it worked well.

The following points were included in the correspondence to the Mayor on the Fore River Bridge project:

- -hours of operation
- -noise limitations which would be monitored via sound level meters
- -handling and disposal of construction debris( ie: dust control)
- -employee parking arrangements
- -designation of a project liaison

Councilor Lacey believes the memorandum is succinct and to the point and moved for favorable action to forward the document, as written, to the Town Council, motion seconded by Councilor Hackett.

Councilor McDonald echoes Councilor Lacey's comments and noted that Mass DOT had been unresponsive from the beginning of the project, stating that their mind was made up regarding the type of bridge, from day one. Councilor McDonald further noted that the impact is immense to the community and he supports Chairman Burke's efforts.

With no further business to attend to, Councilor Hackett motioned to adjourn at 6:55-motion seconded by Councilor Lacey and voted unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted by: Diane T. Hachey

Approved by: Chairman Francis Burke