The Emery Estate is a 24-acre property located atop King Oak Hill in East Weymouth. The property was settled in the 1900s as a farm and single-family home. The Emery family - prominent wool merchants - owned the property from about 1916. The home was originally constructed for William H. Binnian, Esq. and is thought to have been built in 1903. The Town of Weymouth acquired the property from descendants of the Emery family in 2011 for $1.9 million in Community Preservation funds.
The Emery Estate is a premier property in the region. Its sweeping grounds include a 5-acre plateau framed by mature trees at the peak of King Oak Hill. The plateau is an open lawn with five buildings located at the south end. The principal structure is a three-story colonial house modeled on George Washington’s Mount Vernon Estate.
An extraordinary feature of the property is its commanding view of the downtown Boston skyline. The orientation of the site almost perfectly aligns the skyline with the rear of the Emery House. The view is enhanced by the isolation of the property from the surrounding neighborhood. The site’s wooded edges and steep slopes create a unique sense of retreat from the suburban environment.
The grounds are presently closed to any recreation or events due to construction. Any use of the site for an event requires the approval of the Town. For questions, please contact the Department of Planning & Community Development by phone at (781) 340-5015 or click here to send a message to staff.