Town of Weymouth Massachusetts

Department of Planning and Community Development

Robert J. Luongo Director of Planning and Community Development Office: (781) 340-5015 Fax: (781) 335-3283



Robert L. Hedlund Mayor

75 Middle Street Weymouth, MA 02189 Office: 781.340.5012 Fax: 781.335.8184

Press Release

For Immediate Release – April 17, 2019

Nominations Open for the 2019 Chester B. Kevitt Award

Contact(s): Eric Schneider, Principal Planner eschneider@weymouth.ma.us, 781-340-5015

Weymouth, MA – The Weymouth Historical Commission is now accepting nominations for the Chester B. Kevitt Award. Chester "Chet" Kevitt served for many years as the founding chairman of the Weymouth Historical Commission and as president of the Weymouth Historical Society. To honor his memory and encourage similar commitment, the Commission created the Chester B. Kevitt award in 1997 to recognize a person, persons, or a group who has made an outstanding contribution to the preservation of Weymouth's heritage or the understanding of its history. The recipient(s) need not reside in Weymouth, and should not currently serve on the Commission.

The public is invited to make recommendations for the award, and the Historical Commission will make the final decision based on the nominations. Nominations must be made in writing and include a reason for the nomination in 200 words or less. The Commission will determine the 2019 award recipient at its May meeting and present the award in June. The names of the honorees will be displayed on a plaque and on the Weymouth Historical Commission website.

Nominations should be sent to: Eric Schneider, Planning and Community Development Department, Town Hall, 75 Middle Street, Weymouth, Ma. 02189. They may be emailed to <u>eschneider@weymouth.ma.us</u>. Nominations are due in the office by 4:30 PM on Wednesday, May 15, 2019.

For a list of past recipients or to learn more about the Award, please visit: https://www.weymouth.ma.us/historical-commission/pages/chester-b-kevitt-award