# TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES February 1, 2021, Monday Zoom # 843 8325 4167

Present: Arthur Mathews, President

Michael Molisse, Vice President

Pascale Burga, Councilor Kenneth DiFazio, Councilor Jane Hackett, Councilor Fred Happel, Councilor Ed Harrington, Councilor Rebecca Haugh, Councilor Christopher Heffernan

Absent: Brian Dwyer, Councilor

Maureen Kiely, Councilor

Also Present: Mayor Robert Hedlund

Ted Langill, Chief of Staff
Joseph Callanan, Town Solicitor
Kathleen Deree, Town Clerk
Lee Hultin, Asst. Town Clerk
Richard Swanson, Town Auditor
James Malary, Chief Financial Officer

Keith Stark, Chief, WFD

Recording Secretary: Mary Barker

President Mathews called the meeting to order at 7:30 PM. After the Pledge of Allegiance, Town Clerk Kathleen Deree called the roll, with two members absent. President Mathews reported that Councilors Dwyer and Kiely were absent due to work commitments.

#### **MINUTES**

# Minutes of the Ordinance Committee Meeting of January 4, 2021

A motion was made by Vice President Molisse to approve the minutes from the January 4, 2021 Ordinance Committee Meeting and was seconded by Councilor Hackett.

### A roll call vote was taken:

Councilor Burga-Yes, Councilor DiFazio-Yes, Councilor Hackett-Yes, Councilor Happel-Yes, Councilor Harrington-Yes, Councilor Haugh-Yes, Councilor Heffernan-Yes, Vice President Molisse-Yes, President Mathews-Yes. UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

#### Minutes of the Budget/Management Committee Meeting of January 4, 2020

A motion was made by Vice President Molisse to approve the minutes from the January 4, 2021 Budget/Management Committee Meeting and was seconded by Councilor Harrington.

### A roll call vote was taken:

Councilor Burga-Yes, Councilor DiFazio-Yes, Councilor Hackett-Yes, Councilor Happel-Yes, Councilor Harrington-Yes, Councilor Haugh-Yes, Councilor Heffernan-Yes, Vice President Molisse-Yes, President Mathews-Yes, UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

### Minutes of the Town Council Meeting of January 4, 2021

A motion was made by Vice President Molisse to approve the minutes from the January 4, 2021Town Council Meeting and was seconded by Councilor Hackett.

A roll call vote was taken:

Councilor Burga-Yes, Councilor DiFazio-Yes, Councilor Hackett-Yes, Councilor Happel-Yes, Councilor Harrington-Yes, Councilor Haugh-Yes, Councilor Heffernan-Yes, Vice President Molisse-Yes, President Mathews-Yes. UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

#### REPORTS OF COMMITTEES

# **Budget/Management Committee- Chair Michael Molisse**

Councilor Molisse reported that the Budget/Management Committee met on February 1, 2021, to deliberate the following measures:

# 21 003- Reappointment of Town Clerk-Kathleen Deree

This measure was referred to the Budget/Management Committee on January 19, 2021. The committee met on February 1, 2021 and voted to forward the measure to the full Town Council with a recommendation for favorable action.

On behalf of the Budget/Management Committee, Vice President Molisse made a motion to approve measure 21 003; that in accordance with 2-8(b) of the Town Charter, the Town of Weymouth re-appoints Kathleen Deree of 409 Green Street as the Town Clerk, to serve a term of three (3) years. Her current term expires on February 22, 2021. Ms. Deree and her staff were commended for their work done during her term.

The motion was seconded by Councilor Hackett.

A roll call vote was taken:

Councilor Burga-Yes, Councilor DiFazio-Yes, Councilor Hackett-Yes, Councilor Happel-Yes, Councilor Harrington-Yes, Councilor Haugh-Yes, Councilor Heffernan-Yes, Vice President Molisse-Yes, President Mathews-Yes. UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

# 21 004- Reappointment of Assistant Town Clerk-Lee Hultin

This measure was referred to the Budget/Management Committee on January 4, 2021. The committee met on February 1, 2020 and voted to forward the measure to the full Town Council with a recommendation for favorable action.

On behalf of the Budget/Management Committee, Vice President Molisse made a motion to approve measure 21 004; that in accordance with 2-8(b) of the Town Charter, the Town of Weymouth re-appoints Lee Hultin of 104 Mount Vernon Road West as the Assistant Town Clerk, to serve a term of three (3) years. Her current term expires on February 22, 2021.

The motion was seconded by Councilor Hackett. Ms. Hultin was also commended.

A roll call vote was taken:

Councilor Burga-Yes, Councilor DiFazio-Yes, Councilor Hackett-Yes, Councilor Happel-Yes, Councilor Harrington-Yes, Councilor Haugh-Yes, Councilor Heffernan-Yes, Vice President Molisse-Yes, President Mathews-Yes, UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

## 21 005-Reserve Fund Transfer-Fire Department Needs

This measure was referred to the Budget/Management Committee on January 4, 2021. The committee met on February 1, 2020 and voted to forward the measure to the full Town Council with a recommendation for favorable action.

On behalf of the Budget/Management Committee, Vice President Molisse made a motion to approve measure 21 005; that the Town of Weymouth transfer \$36,180 from the Fiscal Year 2021 Reserve Fund to Fire Department Line items for the purpose of funding costs associated with the following needs of the Weymouth Fire Department:

Replacing three (3) HVAC units at Station 5	\$25,300
Additional Apparatus for new fire engine and ladder	\$10,880

The motion was seconded by Councilor Hackett.

#### A roll call vote was taken:

Councilor Burga-Yes, Councilor DiFazio-Yes, Councilor Hackett-Yes, Councilor Happel-Yes, Councilor Harrington-Yes, Councilor Haugh-Yes, Councilor Heffernan-Yes, Vice President Molisse-Yes, President Mathews-Yes. UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The next regular meeting of the Town Council has been scheduled for Tuesday, February 16, 2021, due to the Presidents' Day holiday.

At 7:45 PM; there being no further business, Vice President Molisse made a motion to adjourn the meeting and was seconded by Councilor Hackett.

#### A roll call vote was taken:

Councilor Burga-Yes, Councilor DiFazio-Yes, Councilor Hackett-Yes, Councilor Happel-Yes, Councilor Harrington-Yes, Councilor Haugh-Yes, Councilor Heffernan-Yes, Vice President Molisse-Yes, President Mathews-Yes. UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Respectfully Submitted by Mary Barker, Recording Secretary

Approved by Arthur Mathews as President of the Town Council

Voted unanimously on 16 February 2021