Town Council Minutes Town Hall Council Chambers January 2, 2024

Present: Arthur Mathews, President

Michael Molisse, Vice President

John Abbot, Councilor
Pascale Burga, Councilor
Rick Coughlin, Councilor
Fred Happel, Councilor
Maureen Kiely, Councilor
Gary MacDougall, Councilor
Greg Shanahan, Councilor
Kathleen Deree, Town Clerk
Richard McLeod, Town Solicitor
Brian Connolly, Town Auditor

Absent: Kenneth DiFazio, Councilor

Also Present: Robert Hedlund, Mayor

Ted Langill, Chief of Staff

School Committee

Recording Secretary: Kim McCutcheon

President Mathews called the meeting to order at 7:32 p.m. Following the Pledge of Allegiance, Town Clerk Kathleen Deree called the roll. Councilor DiFazio had a family commitment and will be unable to attend.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

President Mathews wanted to welcome Councilor Coughlin to the Town Council and looks forward to working with him for the next two years.

NEW BUSINESS

Election of Officers – President, Vice President

Town Clerk Kathy Deree opened the nominations for President.

Councilor Shanahan nominated Vice President Molisse for Council President. Motion was seconded by Councilor Kiely. Voted unanimously. There were no other nominations. Councilor Shanahan motioned to close the nominations. Motion was seconded by Councilor Kiely. Voted unanimously. Town Clerk Kathy Deree closed the nominations. Vice President Molisse accepted the nomination as President. President Mathews made a motion for Vice President Molisse to be

the next President of the Council. Motion was seconded by Councilor Kiely. UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

President Molisse spoke and said that he appreciated the nomination and appreciates the support of the Council. The unanimous support means a lot to him, and that the Council puts that trust in him. He looks forward to the next two years. He believes they have a great Council and looks forward to working together with the administration and Diane Hachey, Assistant to the Council. He stated that the Council has a lot in front them in the next two years and looks forward to being part of that.

Town Clerk Kathy Deree entertained a motion to open the floor to nominations for Vice President. Moved by Councilor Shanahan, seconded by Councilor Mathews and voted unanimously.

Councilor Shanahan nominated District 1 Town Councilor Pascale Burga for Council Vice President. Motion was seconded by Councilor Kiely and voted unanimously. There were no other nominations. Councilor Burga accepted the nomination. Councilor Shanahan made a motion to close the nominations. Motion seconded by Councilor Kiely. UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Vice President Burga stated it is an honor to serve as Vice President next to President Molisse. She is very honored to be supported by her district and fellow Councilors. It is also an honor to be the first female Vice President of the Weymouth Town Council.

ADJOURNMENT

Council President Molisse announced to the Councilors to return their committee sheets to Diane Hachey by January 10, 2024. He also invited everyone back to the Mayor Hedlund's office for refreshments immediately following the meeting. The next regularly scheduled Town Council meeting will be held on January 16. 2024.

At 7:38 p.m., there being no further business, Vice President Molisse motioned to adjourn the meeting, and was seconded by Councilor Mathews. Motion passes unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted by Kim McCutcheon as Recording Secretary

Approved by Council President Michael Molisse Voted unanimously on 16 January 2024