## TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES RULES COMMITTEE Town Hall Council Chambers February 20, 2007

1 col ual y 20, 2007
Kevin Whitaker, Chairperson
Thomas J. Lacey, Vice-Chairperson
Greg Shanahan
Michael Smart

Not Present: Arthur E. Mathews

Recording Secretary: Janet Murray

Chairman Whitaker called the Rules Committee Meeting to order at 6:35pm.

## 07 003 Proposed Rule - Hat Removal in Chambers

Councilor Lacey re-stated his intent regarding this submittal . He stated that the rule is now to request rather than expect that an individual remove his/her hat as a show of common courtesy and respect. The Town Council reserves the right to request that individuals doff their hats if the rule is not adhered to.

A MOTION was made by Councilor Lacey to APPROVE item number 07 003 and was seconded by Councilor Shanahan and PASSED on a 3-1 vote.

## **Discussion of Council Rules and Regulations approved in March of 2006**

Councilor Whitaker stated that it was his intent in March of 2006 to have a review of the rules and regulations at the beginning of each year.

Councilor Shanahan stated that he did not have any issue with any of the rules or regulations.

Councilor Whitaker stated that he has been thinking about the rule regarding the practice of approving minutes of a specific Committee by the full Council. He wishes to explore that said minutes be approved by the Committee.

Council Lacey stated that there had been prior discussion regarding attendance. He stated that Solicitor Lane should be consulted regarding this issue for further review.

President Smart stated that it was his recollection that Solicitor Lane had previously stated that as long as the minutes are made available to each Councilor prior to the approval, approval by the full council is acceptable.

Councilor Whitaker stated that he would consult with Solicitor Lane for clarification.

At 6:45 pm, there being no further business, A MOTION was made by Councilor Lacey to ADJOURN and was seconded by Councilor Shanahan and UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Approved by: \_\_\_\_\_\_ Kevin Whitaker, Chairperson