## TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES RULES COMMITTEE Town Hall Council Chambers June 6, 2005

Present: Arthur Mathews, Chairperson Paul J.Leary Thomas J. Lacey Michael Molisse Not Present: Gregory Shanahan Franklin Fryer, Town Clerk Also Present: Jane Hackett, Chief of Staff Recording Secretary: Janet Murray Chairman Mathews called the Ordinance Committee Meeting to order at 7:05pm. 05 052 – Recording Secretary Guidelines Councilor Mathews stated that the Committee last met on May 2, 2005. Denise Coleman, Human Resource Director, and Jane Hackett appeared before the Committee to discuss the guidelines. Councilor Mathews noted that the current procedure for the Town Council is that Richard Swanson, Town Auditor, pay out the invoices to the Recording Secretary. Concern had been expressed that the guidelines would require having the minutes and invoice approved at the Committee level and that this would result in delays in payments. Councilor Mathews stated that this Item was referred to the Rules Committee in April by Councilor Lacey. Councilor Lacey stated that the guidelines were drawn up to add fairness and consistency for payment of invoices. Jane Hackett stated that the administrative authority is the person assigned to sign off on the invoice. A MOTION was made by Councilor Leary to ACCEPT Item #05 052 and was seconded by Councilor Molisse and UNANIMOUSLY VOTED. At 7:15 pm, there being no further business, A MOTION was made by Councilor Smart to ADJOURN and was seconded by Councilor Leary and UNANIMOUSLY VOTED. Approved by: \_

Arthur Mathews, Chairperson