TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE Town Hall Council Chambers

March 6, 2006

Present:	Patrick O'Connor,	Chairperson
----------	-------------------	-------------

Arthur Mathews

Sue Kay

Gregory Shanahan Michael Smart

Also Present: Franklin Fryer, Town Clerk

Richard Swanson, Town Auditor James Wilson, Chief Financial Officer

Recording Secretary: Janet Murray

Chairman O'Connor called the Public Safety Committee Meeting to order at 7:05pm.

Resolution in Support of Legislation Regarding National Sex Offender Registration

Councilor O'Connor stated that there is a bill currently in the U.S. Senate regarding national sex offender registration. This legislation affects law enforcement agencies of cities with 50,000 or more residents. The bill allows for grants averaging \$75,000 for the implementation of this program.

Councilor Mathews asked if Councilor O'Connor had spoken with Chief Thomas. Councilor O'Connor stated that he had not met with him yet. He expected that this Committee would hold another meeting, once the bill is passed and have the Chief present to discuss the application process.

Councilor O'Connor read a resolution titled: Weymouth Town Council Resolution in Support of Legislation That Improves the National Program to Register and Monitor Individuals who Commit Sex Offenses Against Children.

Councilor Kay made a MOTION to recommend FAVORABLE ACTION to the full Town Council and was seconded by Councilor Smart and UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Councilor O' Connor opened the meeting to other business.

Councilor Smart stated that at a previous meeting the Chief had been present and expressed concern about a utility pole at Crescent and Pierce Streets. Councilor Smart recommended that he and Councilor O'Connor work together to get the application to National Grid to relocate this pole for ease of turning for emergency vehicles.

At 7:15 pm, there being no further business, A MOTION was made by Councilor Mathews to ADJOURN and was seconded by Councilor Kay and UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Approved by:	
	Patrick O'Connor, Chairperson