TOWN COUNCIL MEETING TOWN HALL-COUNCIL CHAMBERS JANUARY 4, 2010

Present: Michael Smart, President

Robert Conlon Kenneth DiFazio Ed Harrington Thomas Lacey Arthur Mathews Michael Molisse Brian McDonald Patrick O'Connor Kevin Whitaker

Not Present: Victor Pap III

Maureen Duffy-Town Auditor George Lane, Town Solicitor

Also Present: Franklin Fryer, Town Clerk

James Wilson, Chief Financial Officer

Michael Gallagher, Director of Administrative & Community Services

Jeanne Savoy, Assistant to the Mayor Lee Hultin, Assistant to the Mayor

Kara Hackney-Rennie, Assistant to the Mayor

Recording Secretary: Diane T. Hachey

Council President Smart called the January 4, 2010 Town Council meeting to order at 7:36 P.M. Franklin Fryer conducted a roll call with Councilor Pap not present. Council President Smart noted that Councilor Pap contacted him earlier to say that he was not able to attend this evening's meeting. He further noted that Councilor Pap will be sworn in later on in the week.

Council President Smart extended his gratitude to his colleagues for allowing him the privilege to serve as the President for the last four years. He additionally thanked Vice President Mathews for taking over for former Vice President Leary and commended him for his work as Vice President of the Council. President Smart extended his gratitude to Councilor DiFazio for his work as chair of the Budget/Management Committee. He thanked Diane Hachey for her efforts during his presidency. Further commendations were noted to Mayor Kay, her administration, Jim Wilson, Frank Fryer and the Town Clerk's Office staff, Mary Heinrichs of WETC, and Bobby O'Connor-Director of Public Works.

Council President Smart noted that one of his goals was to encourage spirited debates on issues amongst the Council, in addition to effectively representing and hearing from the constituency. In closing he stated that he thoroughly enjoyed his service as President the last four years.

Councilor Mathews thanked Council President Smart on behalf of the Council for running effective meetings, being a great leader and noted the amount of work conducted behind the scenes, aside from the Council's biweekly meetings. Councilor Mathews presented Council President Smart with a town plaque noting his four year term as President.

New Business-Election of Officers President and Vice President President

Councilor Smart opened the floor for nominations for President.

Councilor O'Connor motioned to nominate District 4 Councilor Arthur Mathews for President, motion seconded by Councilor DiFazio. Councilor Smart asked if there were additional nominations, to which there was no reply. Councilor Smart closed the floor to nominations. Councilor O'Connor motioned to elect Councilor Arthur Mathews as President, seconded by Councilor DiFazio and voted unanimously. (Councilor Smart exchanged seats with newly elected President Mathews).

President Mathews thanked his colleagues for their support and noted that he has worked diligently the past eight years and attends meetings several nights each week. He would like to further expand his role. He thanked his wife, Karen, and son, Chase, for their support, in addition to the constituency. He will initially work on committee assignments and will distribute paperwork this evening to each Councilor.

Vice President

Councilor Smart opened the floor for nominations for Vice President.

Councilor Smart motioned to nominate Councilor O'Connor for Vice President, motion seconded by Councilor DiFazio. Councilor Smart asked if there were additional nominations, to which there was no reply. Councilor Smart closed the floor to nominations. Councilor Smart motioned to elect Councilor O'Connor as Vice President, seconded by Councilor DiFazio and voted unanimously (Councilor Smart and Councilor O'Connor exchanged seats).

Councilor O'Connor thanked his family and extended family, the Town Council, and noted the past few years as extremely difficult and is looking forward to working with the Council and the constituency in years to come.

President Mathews noted that the next Town Council Meeting will be held on Monday, 25 January 2010 due to the Special State Election on 19 January 2010.

At 7:50 PM, there being no further business to attend to, Councilor Smart motioned to adjourn, motion seconded by Councilor O'Connor and voted unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted by:

Diane T. Hachey

Approved by:

Arthur Mathews Newly Elected President of Weymouth Town Council