MINUTES OF THE TOWN COUNCIL Special Meeting Weymouth Town Hall, Council Chambers July 21, 2005

Present: Thomas J. Lacey, President

Michael Smart, Vice-President

Joseph Connolly Paul J. Leary Colin McPherson Kenneth DiFazio

Susan Kay

Michael Molisse Arthur Mathews

Gregory Shanahan, arrived at 7:39 PM

Absent: Gregory Hargadon

Also Present: George Lane, Town Solicitor

Franklin Fryer, Town Clerk Jane Hackett, Chief of Staff David M. Madden, Mayor

Recording Secretary: Lisa VanWinkle

President Lacey called the July 21, 2005 Special Town Council Meeting to order at 7:30 PM.

Pledge of Allegiance

Roll Call

Approval of Minutes:

Ordinance Committee – 6/6/05

A MOTION was made by Councilor Smart to approve the minutes of the June 6, 2005 Ordinance Committee Meeting as submitted and was seconded by Councilor Mathews and UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Rules Committee – 6/6/05

A MOTION was made by Councilor Smart to approve the minutes of the June 6, 2005 Rules Committee Meeting as submitted and was seconded by Councilor Mathews and UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

SPECIAL TOWN COUNCIL MEETING July 21, 2005 Page 2 of 3

Town Council – 6/6/05

A MOTION was made by Councilor Smart to approve the minutes of the June 6, 2005 Town Council Meeting as submitted and was seconded by Councilor Mathews and UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Joint Public Hearing- Town Council/Planning Board – 6/16/05

A MOTION was made by Councilor Smart to approve the minutes of the June 16, 2005 Joint Public Hearing of the Town Council & Planning Board as submitted and was seconded by Councilor Mathews.

Councilor DiFazio stated Page 5 of the minutes indicates Henry Dunker submitted a document which listed in excess of seven hundred names in opposition to the re-use plan and the document would become part of the record. He questioned if the document was present and if it was indeed part of the record.

President Lacey replied that it was a part of the record and the verbiage of the petition was included. It was filed at the Town Council's Office. He is in possession of the signatures and they are available as well.

Councilor Leary noted on Page 3, in the bottom paragraph, "Mr. Fancher stated the East/ West Parkway would be under construction in Phase I. The construction road would be built prior to the end of Phase I." Councilor Leary stated that is totally inaccurate. The construction road will start in Phase I.

A substitute MOTION was made by Councilor Kay to TABLE the minutes of the June 16, 2005 Joint Public Hearing of the Town Council & Planning Board and was seconded by Councilor Mathews and UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Budget/Management Committee – 7/5/05

A MOTION was made by Councilor Smart to approve the minutes of the July 5, 2005 Budget/Management Committee Meeting as submitted and was seconded by Councilor Mathews and UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Councilor Shanahan arrived at 7:39 PM.

Communication from Mayor, Town Officers and Town Boards:

05 094 - Reappointment - Board of Registrars - William Johnson

Councilor Smart made a MOTION to take item #5 out of order for discussion. Councilor Mathews seconded. UNANIMOUSLY VOTED

Councilor Leary made a MOTION to take Measure 05 094 under 2-9(b) of the Charter. Councilor Kay seconded. UNANIMOUSLY VOTED

SPECIAL TOWN COUNCIL MEETING

July 21, 2005

Page 3 of 3

Councilor Smart made a MOTION to approve Measure 05 094 to reappoint William Johnson to the Board of Registrars. Councilor Mathews seconded. UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Motions, Orders and Resolutions:

Executive Session – Councilor Smart
Discussion RE: Development of the South Weymouth Naval Air Base

At 7:40 PM a MOTION was made by Councilor Smart to go into EXECUTIVE SESSION for the purpose of considering the value of the real property involved in the transfer and development of the South Weymouth Naval Air Station and to reconvene in open session for the purpose of adjournment, in that such discussion may have a detrimental effect on the negotiating position of the Town Council relating thereto. Councilor Kay seconded the motion.

ROLL CALL VOTE: Councilor Connolly, AYE; Councilor DiFazio, AYE; Councilor Hargadon, Absent; Councilor Kay, AYE; Councilor Leary, AYE; Councilor Mathews, AYE; Councilor McPherson, AYE; Councilor Molisse, AYE; Councilor Shanahan, AYE; Councilor Smart, AYE; Councilor Lacey, AYE. The MOTION was UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Adjournment

At 8:40 PM A MOTION was made by Councilor Smart to ADJOURN and was seconded by Councilor Molisse and UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Respectfully submitted by Lisa VanWinkle, Recording Secretary

Approved by:	
Thomas J. Lacey, President	