TOWN COUNCIL MINUTES Town Hall Council Chambers Tuesday 2 January 2018
Michael Smart, Vice President
Kenneth DiFazio, Councilor
Jane Hackett, Councilor
Fred Happel, Jr., Councilor
Rebecca Haugh, Councilor
Christopher Heffernan, Councilor

Absent:

Present:

Absent:

Also Present:

Mayor Robert Hedlund Brian Connolly, Chief Financial Officer Ted Langill, Chief of Staff Joe Callanan, Town Solicitor Kathleen Deree, Town Clerk Richard Swanson, Town Auditor

Thomas J. Lacey, Councilor Arthur Mathews, Councilor Michael Molisse, Councilor

Ed Harrington, Councilor Brian McDonald, Councilor

Recording Secretary: Diane T. Hachey

Vice President Smart called the meeting to order at 7:30 PM. Following the Pledge of Allegiance, Town Clerk Kathy Deree called the roll, with two members absent. Vice President Smart reported that Councilors McDonald and Harrington were unable to attend this evening and have made arrangements with the Town Clerk to be sworn in.

### New Business

# **Election of Officers-President and Vice President**

### President

Pursuant to the charter, Vice President Smart turned the election of officers over to the Town Clerk.

Kathy Deree opened the floor for nominations for President.

Councilor Molisse motioned to NOMINATE Councilor Smart for President of the Weymouth Town Council. Motion seconded by Councilor Mathews and voted unanimously.

Vice President Smart accepted the nomination for President.

Kathy Deree closed the floor for nominations for President.

Councilor DiFazio motioned to ELECT Councilor Michael Smart as President of the Town Council, motion seconded by Councilor Haugh and voted unanimously.

President Smart thanked his colleagues for their support. He expressed that it is both an honor and privilege to serve on this Council. He also recognized outgoing President Patrick O'Connor and Councilor Robert Conlon and their many years of dedicated service. He looks forward to working together with his colleagues (recognizing newly elected Councilors Happel and Heffernan) and administration. He will determine the new committee formations, in conjunction with the Vice President, and distribute to Diane Hachey sometime this week.

President Smart mentioned his vision for this term and noted the extensive progress made to our roads and sidewalks, parks and fields, and rezoning. He noted the respectful manner of working together the past two years, which resulted in healthy debate and transparent and effective government. He very much looks forward to working collectively with his colleagues and administration and will encourage open lines of communication and adding to our commercial tax base in an effort to make Weymouth a better place to live, work and raise a family.

## Vice President

Kathy Deree opened the floor for nominations for Vice President.

Councilor DiFazio motioned to NOMINATE Councilor Arthur Mathews for Vice President of the Weymouth Town Council. Motion seconded by Councilor Haugh and voted unanimously.

Councilor Mathews accepted the nomination for Vice President.

Kathy Deree closed the floor for nominations for Vice President.

Councilor DiFazio motioned to ELECT Councilor Arthur Mathews as Vice President of the Town Council, motion seconded by Councilor Haugh and voted unanimously.

Vice President Mathews thanked his colleagues and welcomed the two new Councilors. The Council may not always agree on issues, but collectively work well together in the goal of making Weymouth a better place.

Town Clerk Kathy Deree officially swore in Council President Smart and Vice President Mathews to their respective positions.

# ADJOURNMENT

The next regular meeting of the Town Council has been scheduled for <u>Tuesday</u>, <u>January</u> **6**, **2018** due to Martin Luther King Jr. Day. At 7:41 PM; there being no further business, a MOTION was made by Vice President Mathews to ADJOURN the meeting and was seconded by Councilor DiFazio. UNANIMOUSLY VOTED.

Respectfully Submitted by Diane Hachey as Recording Secretary.

Approved by Michael Smart as Newly Elected President of the Town Council

Voted unanimously on 5 February 2018