About the Scholarship Fund

M.G.L. c. 60, §3C allows any Massachusetts city or town to establish a Scholarship Fund, the purpose of which is to provide educational financial aid to deserving city and town residents. Once the city or town accepts the provisions of M.G.L. c. 60, §3C, the municipality is authorized to design and designate a place on its municipal bills whereby taxpayers can voluntarily check off, donate, and pledge an amount to support the Scholarship Fund, and to deposit said amounts in a special account in the general treasury, subject to the same limitations applicable to trust fund investments. The city or town must also establish a Scholarship Fund Committee, which shall have the responsibility of selecting the recipients of and amounts of financial aid, guided by criteria established by the committee and subject to any ordinance or bylaw as well as the following state criteria:

  1. Scholarship recipients must be residents of the city or town at the time the financial aid is first awarded and have been accepted to pursue education beyond the secondary-school level at an institution deemed accredited by the committee.

  2. The committee must take into consideration each recipient’s financial need, character, scholastic record, and involvement in community work as well as extracurricular school activities.

Mission of the Scholarship Fund Committee

The Town's Scholarship Fund was established in 1989 by a Town-meeting vote. The mission of the Scholarship Fund Committee is to provide a voluntary check-off program or other donation form via municipal bills for voluntary donations to the Scholarship Fund and to maintain a perpetual trust fund in order to expand the educational opportunities for all Weymouth residents, regardless of race, color, creed, age or sex, pursuing post-secondary education at a college, trade school, or other institution deemed accredited by the committee.

Composition and Term Limits

Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 60, § 3C, the permanent members of the Scholarship Fund Committee are the Superintendent of Schools (or his or her designee) and no fewer than four members of community appointed by the Mayor to serve a three-year term. The Town's Code of Ordinance §3-226 provides for eight members of the community.

Meetings and Officers

The committee meets periodically and holds an annual meeting every year to elect, from its members, a Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and Assistant Treasurer, and any other officer deemed necessary by the committee.

Rules & Regulations

The committee is governed by its by-laws, which from time to time may be amended by majority vote.


No officer, committee member, or employee of the Town is be entitled to receive compensation from donations made to the Scholarship Fund.