Construction Steering Committee

The Construction Steering Committee is responsible for the evaluation of all proposed construction, reconstruction, or remodeling projects related to a municipal or school building. The committee is also responsible for any construction, reconstruction, or remodeling work that is authorized to be undertaken. The authority to award all contracts and to approve all payments is reserved to the Mayor, subject only to the appropriation of funds by the Town Council.  

The Construction Steering Committee is a seven-member body consisting of the Mayor, the Director of Public Works, the Director of Planning and Community Development, the Director of Municipal Licenses and Inspections, the Maintenance Director of the School Department (or their designees), and two members of the community appointed by the Mayor. One member of the School Committee or its designee will replace the Director of Planning and Community Development whenever there is planning or construction of a new, remodeled, or renovated school building.

The Construction Steering Committee may, in appropriate circumstances, establish an advisory committee to represent the users of a building and to assist the committee in making decisions which will best reflect the needs of these users. Members of any such committee are appointed by the Mayor.

Board Members

Name Title
Jeffrey E. Richards, C.B.O. Chairman
John Barker School Maintenance Rep.
Kenan Connell Director of Public Works
Kathy Curran School Committee Rep.
John Gillon Member
Kerry Ann Knapp Mayor's Rep.
Robert Luongo Director of Planning & Community Development
Gilbert Starkey Member