Planning & Community Development

Planning and community development refer to the public and technical processes that create opportunities for people to live, work, play, and travel in their community. The Department of Planning and Community Development (DPCD) coordinates official activities related to community design, land use, and wetland protection in the Town of Weymouth. The DPCD’s responsibilities include review of land acquisition and zoning amendments, management of economic and community development initiatives, support for safe and affordable housing, administration of federal Community Development Block Grants, enforcement of local wetland protection regulations, development of a Town Master Plan, coordination of projects to enhance public spaces, and staffing for multiple Town boards, commissions, and committees.

The DPCD is composed of the following divisions: Planning, Conservation, Housing, and Community Development. Please browse our web pages for more information. Sign up for e-alerts here.

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Robert Luongo Director
Eric Schneider Principal Planner
Owen MacDonald Traffic Engineer
Kate Marshall Community Development Planner
Jody H. Lehrer Community Development Coordinator
Jane Kudcey Housing Coordinator
Mary Ellen Schloss Conservation Administrator
Pat Fitzgerald Conservation Principal Clerk
Anne Paradis Secretary