Redevelopment Authority

Under M.G.L. Chapter 121B, a local Redevelopment Authority has broad powers to redevelop underutilized, deteriorated, or blighted open areas for industrial, commercial, business, residential, recreational, education, hospital, or other purposes. These powers include the taking of real estate through eminent domain; relocating businesses and residents; occupying property in state-approved urban renewal areas; and demolishing and/or rehabilitating substandard structures. 

Weymouth's Redevelopment Authority consists of five members, four of which are appointed by the Mayor and one appointed by the Massachusetts Department of Housing and Community Development.

Staff Contacts

Board Members

Name Title
George Berg Chair
Vincent Mina Vice-Chair
Joseph Curran Clerk
Michael Wilcox Member
Steven McCloskey Member